Butterfly Release | Jenny Fujinami

On Saturday June 16th there was a Butterfly Release for families that have lost a baby. I was so nervous for some reason. I knew a few familes that had lost a baby, but now I would meet more families. I saw the women that I knew and then other women. I did not know many of them but we all had this heartache is common. We all know the worse thing, and that is to lose a child.

It was a beautiful day warm and sunny. There was a poster board with little baby feet on it and those feet were Leah’s! I spent alot of time talking to the women that I did know laughing and sharing. Sara Janes hugged me tight.  Marc got our butterflies for us and handed me mine. They came in little off white folded paper that we had to leave in the sun to get the Butterflies warm. There was a poem on it:

As you release this butterfly in honor of me, know that I’m with you and will always be.

Hold a hand, say a prayer, close your eyes, and see me there.

Although you may feel a bit torn apart, please know that I’ll be forever in your heart.

Now fly away butterfly as high  as you go, I’m right there beside you, more than you know.

It was time to release them as they read a poem we opened our paper. My Butterfly sat for a moment and then flew away once I moved it. Marc’s Butterfly did not fly away. It sat and stayed with him, it was very sweet. There were Butterflies everywhere and people watching them very closely.  We were all very connected by this moment, the event and what the butterflies meant to everyone.

These are some pictures that Carolyn took of the event.  The turnout was amazing for a first time event.  Cheyenne Memorial Chapel did a great job and we thank them for their work along with Cheyenne Regional Medical Center.

Leave us Love

